February 21, 2015 in Feedback
Is it possible to do a full upgrade by replacing ALL files from 3.4.7 with 4.0 i.e I don t want to have to hunt for ghosts or files associated with old addons that may linger around in deep folders. Can I upgrade by locking the site down, making a copy of the database and 3.4.7 files, then removing all files but config and uploading 4.0 then running the upgrade?
Usually for upgrades I merge the new files on top of the old ones, this time I would like to start fresh for the files
Sorry I haven t had time to look at the upgrade mechanism yet
That may have been a dumb question but I was just asking in case the update process requires the site's current files and not just the database
If you look at the folder structure for the different versions it seems you could get rid of the following folders:
I would make a backup and do an upgrade then after it's complete remove each of these folders one by one and refresh the page to see if you get any errors.
Let me know if that helps.
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.
Started Monday at 08:54 AM
Started 2 hours ago
Started November 9, 2021