As a front-end designer IPB is a nightmare lack of CSS classes

iJeff

I can not believe there are only a dozen of CSS classes, to control the zillions of blocks and elements. Even worse, each group or type of page does not has its own css class. If you have ever used 'wordpress' you would know what I meant. wordpress has CSS built-in even for the tinest element in a document. And It's hell easy even for a beginner level web designer to customize the way they can., Only because extremely specific CSS classes. For instance, If I am viewing single post, (topic view in IPB, or article view in IP content, where I needed it most) wordpress would add .single css class to body element among others. Likewise to other type of different public view templates.

There is no way you can style a different template or page without messing with the core files. I have little to no knowledge of XML, since I have pretty good understanding of HTML, I was able to pull this trick off where I could. But as a general rule, 'never ever be general with css'., be as much specific as you can. It would result in adding more classes and one time hard work. But it would save zillions of hours for many of us.

Thanks for consideration.

Sorry but not sure I follow.

IP.Content has its own css and can be changed as required

If there is a same class in IP Content that is used in forum, blog, gallery etc then they can all be changed to be different by using the css file for that app (or adding your own css file for that app)

Perhaps I am mis-reading your post ?

Sorry but not sure I follow.

IP.Content has its own css and can be changed as required

If there is a same class in IP Content that is used in forum, blog, gallery etc then they can all be changed to be different by using the css file for that app (or adding your own css file for that app)

Perhaps I am mis-reading your post ?