Jump to content

Delete member from Moderator group needs confirm warning!


crabpaws
 Share

Recommended Posts

My board was upgraded to IPB 3.4.5 this spring.

Yesterday, I wanted to review my list of moderators and remove those who were no longer moderators from the moderator group.

This is the path I followed:

ACP > Member Groups > Manage Member Groups

then I clicked on the number for the Moderator group.

I found a moderator who had stepped down. Thinking I was editing the Moderator group, I clicked on the DELETE button.

Big mistake! Turns out this deletes the member entirely, and this action is all but impossible to reverse. (Yes, you can restore from backup and, depending how old the backup is, lose a bunch of posts and registrations, or edit the database following very daunting instructions here https://www.invisionpower.com/support/kb/_/changing-post-authors-r48 )

Since this is a close-to-irreversible action, clicking on the DELETE button should at least be followed by an alert something like

"Are you sure you want to delete this member account entirely? This can be reversed only by installing from backup. DELETE ACCOUNT.....CANCEL"

Either that, or retain the account information so it can be restored from the ACP.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The issue is that following this path, ACP > Member Groups > Manage Member Groups > click on Moderator group number

it appears you're editing the Moderator group. You don't know a "delete" will delete the member account. The confirm message is generic.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think we're going to do that I'm afraid. We aren't going to retain deleted data everywhere for x days in case someone clicked delete but didn't *really* mean to delete. Don't delete data you might want to retain. ;)

And if there was a confirm message and you confirmed, then I'm sorry you inadvertently deleted the user but this was simply confusion and not a deficiency in the software. We'll review the process in 4.0 to see if it's clear enough, but this sounds like an area that's kind of hard to make a whole lot clearer. Your topic title says deleting a member needs a confirm warning, but then you stated that there was a confirm and you confirmed it because you thought you were confirming something else. That's pretty confusing lol.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think we're going to do that I'm afraid. We aren't going to retain deleted data everywhere for x days in case someone clicked delete but didn't *really* mean to delete. Don't delete data you might want to retain. ;)

Can I stroll off-topic here and ask if that means "there's no hope for you getting a deletion queue for attachments or IP.Downloads files"?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

bfarber, thanks for considering this for 4.0.

The title says Delete member from Moderator group needs confirm warning!

As I explained, I followed a path that seemed to give me a way to remove a member from the Moderator group. I did not take the DELETE button or confirm message to mean I was deleting the member entirely.

The user interaction did not make it clear what was going on. It's a usability flaw. Here are a few other people who made the same mistake:

Kurt De Pauw http://community.invisionpower.com/topic/394555-change-guest-somename-back-to-original/

cyimking http://community.invisionpower.com/topic/394349-get-deleted-member/

yevlem http://community.invisionpower.com/topic/385952-accidental-delete-of-the-user/


Given that deleting a member has such drastic consequences, a fail-safe is justified, or at the least a clarified warning message -- which would be applicable to all circumstances of deleting a member.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...