Jump to content

Feature request: Delink user name history


Recommended Posts

With the way employers are getting crazy with internet background searches of prospective employees, it might be useful to have a feature in Invision Board that allows users, moderators, or administrators to erase a person's name history.

For example, it's not unusual for someone to sign on to a forum using their real name. Somewhere along the line they change their user name. Through the use of the "Display Name History" link in a user's profile, it is possible to link a person's comments made under a pseudonym with their original real name.

It would be great if administrators could enable/disable this link in the user profile page on a per-user basis. But system-wide is OK, too.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Its quite easy to conditional it so its only visible to certain groups, I wrote an article on doing this a while back. It should still work on the newer version, if not I'll update it. Its also straightforward to erase it too via the SQL Toolbox or phpmyadmin if required, either everyone or a specific member. :smile:

Having said that I can see the value in a new ACP option when editing a member (on the "actions" dropdown perhaps) to remove previous display names.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...