vBulletin Refugees

Morsolo

I know there will probably be a whole bunch of people wondering over here from vB in the coming days/weeks, so instead of the threads in Pre-Sales that are moderated, I figure I should start this one as just a general discussion of IPS. Please do not use this thread to 'bash' vBS or IPS, this is serious talk only...

I have to say though, in the short time I've spent browsing these wonderful forums, I have to say... WOW! Everything is so simple, beautifully laid out and the effects flow perfectly. I'm awestruck. Seriously.

Alas, my problem is not with the frontend...

I keep coming back here in the vague hope that I might work up the courage to convert. I've spent so long custom coding so many things on my vB website that I don't want to loose my work. I am not a great coder, so my code is messy in the sense that it will probably be difficult to just "convert" it over to IPB.

A question I would like answered though, can anyone give me a list of alternatives of all the popular vB Addons? For example, the Alternative for vBAdvanced would be the IP.Portal, etc.

A suggestion I have for the IPS Team though is to have a sale. Right now there's a lot of vB guys throwing tantrums and if IPS came down even further in price, I'm sure it would push A LOT of people over the edge. (Just a suggestion though, I have no idea what laws/rules/ethics apply).

Anyway, I hope I've got this in the right section; and that it is ok for me to do so.
- Morsolo

• Management

We are happy to keep a topic like this open if it does not turn into a bashing thread. We are out to offer a great community solution here and we appreciate our customers being quite happy with our products but don't want things to turn dark in the process :)

As for alternatives to addons perhaps you can post a list of which ones you are looking for alternatives? I am sure the community can give you pointers.